About Us

The Friends of Vellore groups have been in existence for almost 60 years. Sydney and Melbourne were the first and the rest followed over the years. The groups in the different states are located in the capital cities and they work throughout the year in various ways to support Christian Medical College and Hospital at Vellore. They are involved in:

  • Fundraising activities of different kinds to support medical care for the poorest of the poor in India.
  • Sharing professional expertise by visiting Vellore and conducting seminars, lectures and demonstrations.
  • Promoting Vellore for elective studies for Australian medical students
  • Facilitating advanced training for medical and nursing staff from CMCH in highly specialised areas of health care in Australia.
  • Shipping to Vellore of any used medical equipment donated by hospitals here.

Office Bearers of State Branches of FOV


Ms. Alison Vickery
4/80 Kurraba Road Neutral Bay 2089
Ph: 9953 6376
Email: [email protected]

Vice Chairman
Dr. Liza Jacob
9 Sunridge Place West Pennant Hills 2125
Ph: 659 5290
Email: [email protected]

Dr. Gordon Thomas
29 Paul Court, Baulkham Hills, NSW 2153
Ph: 0419 238064

Treasurer / Newsletter Editor
Dr. Stephen Aseervatham
P.O.Box 3040 Valentine 2280
Ph: 4946 7882
Email: [email protected]



Mrs. Cathy Chandani
24 Mathews St, Bethania 4205
Ph: 0412 391353

Vice Chairman
Rev John Hooper
74 Meynell St, Salisbury 4107
Ph: 3701 0017

Hon. Secretary
Mrs Gwenda Spencer
22 Elgata St, The Gap 4061
Ph: 3300 1542

Hon. Treasurer
Mr Richard Caitens
PO Box 374, Northgate 4013
Ph: 3266 1962
Email : [email protected]

Stalls Co-ordinator
Mrs Claire Mainstone
37 Fifth Av, St Lucia, 4067
Ph: 3371 1332

Publicity Officer & Newsletter Editor
Rev Brian Lee
19 Glencloy Street, Ferny Grove 4055
Ph: 3351 3272
Email: [email protected]

South Australia

Dr. Renjy Nelson
Ph: 08 8369 3268
Email: [email protected]

Vice President:

Ms. Luisa Mozzi
Email: [email protected]

Dr, Ian Roberts-Thomson
Ph: 08 8272 1796
Email: [email protected]

Newsletter Editor:
Mr. Gary Fielke
Ph: 08 8346 6679
Email: [email protected]

Address for Donations
8 William Street, Hawthorn, SA 5062



Dr. Jeanette Hyland
25 Waratah St. Kingston 7050
Ph: 03 6229 6928
Email: [email protected]

Mrs. Gabrielle Fraser
120 Canopus Rd Mt Rumney 7170
Ph: 03 6248 5200

Secretary/ News
Mrs. Meg Skegg. 477 Nelson Rd. Mt Nelson 7007
Ph: 03 6223 6751


Prof. David Runia, The Master Queen’s College
Email: [email protected]

Vice President:
Rev. Colin Honey
Email: [email protected]

Dr. Helen McNamara
Email: [email protected]

Heidi Winnen
Tel: 0400 870146
[email protected]

Editor of the Newsletter:
Dr. Nancy Nicholas
Email: [email protected]

Address for Correspondence and Donations:
P O Box 81N
Armadale North
Victoria 3143





Website Design and Development by Identiti Web Development